Episode 1: John Shannon - Deep listening, and Pittsburgh's newest jazz club

Anton_SeriesofThree_V3-Podcast John Shannon edited.jpg

John Shannon (@johnshannonmusic) is a guitarist, singer, songwriter, and most recently founder and musical director of Pittsburgh's newest jazz club, Con Alma.  

In his eclectic fashion John has released a handful of solo folk rock records in addition to leading the atmospheric power rock trio, Leaders Of The Shift, and jazz fusion group, Waking Vision Trio.  John has also collaborated with jazz pianist Hiromi, singer/songwriter Sonya Kitchell, he's toured the world with the circus, and he had a hand in the music for the tv show Louie.

This episode covers how John got started in music, how he convinced his Mom to let him drop out of high school, some of his key teachers & influences, deep listening, learning new material, the story and motivation behind Con Alma, and plenty of other gems.  

Along with this podcast episode I will be releasing the first of what I'm calling Series Of Three.  The concept is to release a grouping of three songs to compliment each podcast episode and vice versa.  The first Series Of Three features John on guitar alongside James Johnson III on drums, Antonio Croes on the rhodes, and myself on upright bass.  We perform the jazz classics Star Eyes, Nardis, and a tip of the hat to John's new club, Dizzy Gillespie's Con Alma. Check the songs out here. 

Enjoy!

Where you can connect with John & Con Alma online: 

IG: @johnshannonmusic

FB: https://www.facebook.com/JohnShannonMusic/

www.johnshannonmusic.com 

IG: @conalmapgh

FB: www.facebook.com/conalmapgh

https://www.conalmapgh.com/


References:

Bill Purse: http://billpurse.com/

Ken Karsh: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCX75hJGDgqIPKyrg3GRjNLQ

Duquesne Music School: https://www.duq.edu/academics/schools/music

Nirvana: https://www.nirvana.com/

Soundgarden: http://www.soundgardenworld.com/ 

John Purse & Opek - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Kai6ak9xGw 

Eric Kloss: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eric_Kloss

Governor's School: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pennsylvania_Governor%27s_School_for_the_Arts

Spider Rondinelli: https://www.post-gazette.com/news/obituaries/2017/07/13/Obituary-Arnold-Spider-Rondinelli-Drummer-had-quiet-influence-on-Pittsburgh-jazz-scene/stories/201707120201

New School University: https://www.newschool.edu/jazz/

Matt Kilmer: http://www.mattkilmer.com/bio.html

Berklee College Of Music: https://www.berklee.edu/

Mick Goodrick: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mick_Goodrick

Wayne Krantz: http://www.waynekrantz.com/

Hal Crook: https://www.halcrook.com/

Waking Vision Trio: https://www.amazon.com/Ancient-Bloom-Waking-Vision-Trio/dp/B00147W2JK/ref=ntt_mus_ep_dpi_1

Berlin Wall: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berlin_Wall

Vision Quest: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vision_quest

Curandero: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Curandero

Sonya Kitchell: http://www.sonyakitchell.com/#press-quotes

Hear Music Label: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hear_Music

Hiromi: http://www.hiromiuehara.com/s/y01en/?ima=4203

David Fiuczynski: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Fiuczynski

Ahmad Jamal: https://ahmadjamal.com/

Pyeng Threadgill: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pyeng_Threadgill

Obliq Sound Label: http://www.obliqsound.com/

Lionel Loueke: https://www.lionelloueke.com/

Gretchen Parlato: https://www.gretchenparlato.com/

American Mystic: https://www.amazon.com/American-Mystic-John-Shannon-2008-04-29/dp/B01KB25K4C/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=john+shannon+american+mystic&qid=1557093161&s=gateway&sr=8-1

Songs Of The Desert River: https://www.amazon.com/Songs-Desert-River-Shannon-Wings/dp/B0050S6T8O/ref=sr_1_2?keywords=john+shannon+songs+of+desert&qid=1557093202&s=gateway&sr=8-2

Time Was A Lie: https://www.amazon.com/Time-Was-John-River-Shannon/dp/B0090PX42M/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=john+shannon+time+was+a+lie&qid=1557093239&s=gateway&sr=8-1-spell

Spiegel World Circus: https://spiegelworld.com/

Blue Note:  http://www.bluenotejazz.com/newyork/index.shtml

Village Vanguard: https://villagevanguard.com/

Cliff Bells: http://www.cliffbells.com/

Leaders Of The Shift: http://leadersoftheshift.com/

Dave Throckmorton:  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dave_Throckmorton

James Johnson:  https://open.spotify.com/artist/1OrESrzgInmhY5DyENXkxY?autoplay=true&v=A

Bachelor Boys Band: www.bachelorboysband.com

Michael Ross Obituary: https://www.post-gazette.com/news/obituaries/2018/06/29/Obituary-Michael-Ross-organist-composer-musician-St-Anne-Catholic-Church/stories/201806270177

Con Alma: www.conalmapgh.com

John Coltrane: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Coltrane

Thelonious Monk: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thelonious_Monk

Grant Green: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grant_Green

Bach: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johann_Sebastian_Bach

Gregorian Chant: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gregorian_chant

Arvo Part: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arvo_P%C3%A4rt

Jean Langlais: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean_Langlais

Maurice Durufle: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maurice_Durufl%C3%A9

Durufle's Requiem: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XRzPi0CA1rg

Olivier Messiaen: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Olivier_Messiaen

Notre Dame Cathedral Fire - Organ: https://www.npr.org/sections/deceptivecadence/2019/04/21/715271953/after-the-flames-notre-dames-centuries-old-organ-may-never-be-the-same-again

Jimmy Page: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jimmy_Page

Leppelin IV: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Led_Zeppelin_IV

Stairway To Heaven: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stairway_to_Heaven

Black Dog: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_Dog_(song)

Jimi Hendrix: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jimi_Hendrix

Cream: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cream_(band)

Are You Experienced?: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Are_You_Experienced

https://www.amazon.com/Are-You-Experienced-US-Sleeve/dp/B00B9DGYAW/ref=sr_1_2?keywords=are+you+experienced+vinyl&qid=1557161058&s=gateway&sr=8-2

Band Of Gypsys: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Band_of_Gypsys

FAVORITE BASS PLAYERS: 

John Paul Jones: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Paul_Jones

"Ramble On" 

Gary Peacock: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gary_Peacock

Keith Jarrett Trio: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keith_Jarrett

Jack Dejohnette: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jack_DeJohnette

Albert Ayler: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albert_Ayler

Bill Evans: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bill_Evans

Trio 64 Album: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trio_64

Live At The Bluenote:

https://open.spotify.com/album/6sJLTN1J3PhPQ0OybVsqVz

Hal Galper: https://www.halgalper.com/

Whole 30 Diet: https://whole30.com/whole30-program-rules/

PA Liquor License: http://pennsylvanialiquorlicense.com/faqs/

"We Knew What We Had" Documentary: 

https://www.weknewwhatwehadfilm.com/

Art Blakey: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Art_Blakey

Manchester Craftsmen's Guild: http://mcgjazz.org/

Marty Ashby: https://martyashby.com/

George Benson: http://www.georgebenson.com/

Paul Shannon: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Shannon

Adventure Time:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adventure_Time_(1959_TV_series)

Fred Rogers: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fred_Rogers

Three Stooges: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Three_Stooges

Duke Ellington: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Duke_Ellington

Crawford Grill: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crawford_Grill

Ruslan Sirota: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ruslan_Sirota

Kamasi Washington: https://www.kamasiwashington.com/

Stanley Clarke: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stanley_Clarke

Other links: 

John playing with Hiromi: 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XwtoHM9cLQo

Anton DeFade